CEMAT (Center for Computational and Stochastic Mathematics) is a Research Unit of Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa (IST-UL), hosted by the Department of Mathematics and with a research/management Pole at Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa (FC-UL). CEMAT was founded in 1996 with the original name of Center for Applied Mathematics, and later named Center for Mathematics and its Applications.  The Center is funded by FCT (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia), Project UID/Multi/04621/2013 and is a member of CIM (International Mathematics Center). Presently, it has 40 PhD Members from several institutions, 9 PhD Students and 41 Collaborators.

Research Areas



A new algorithm for inference in Hidden Markov models with lower span complexity

The maximum likelihood problem for Hidden Markov Models is usually numerically solved by the Baum-Welch algorithm, which uses the Expectation-Maximization algorithm to find the estimates of the parameters. This algorithm has a recursion depth equal to the data sample si...

Dynamic Prediction of an Event Using Multiple Longitudinal Markers: a Model Averaging Approach

Dynamic event prediction, using joint modeling of survival time and longitudinal variables, is extremely useful in personalized medicine. However, estimating joint models that include multiple longitudinal markers remains a computational challenge due to the large numbe...

Multiscale Modelling of Fluid Flow in a Lymph Node

Lymph nodes (LNs) are organs scattered throughout the lymphatic system which play a vital role in our immune response by breaking down bacteria, viruses, and waste; the interstitial fluid, called lymph once inside the lymphatic system, is of fundamental importance in th...

Members of the Board

Manuel Scotto (President)  |  Carlota Rebelo Gonçalves (Coordinator of the Scientific Council)

Members of the Executive Committee

Manuel Scotto (President)  |   Carlota Rebelo  |   Conceição Amado  |  Ana Leonor Silvestre (Vice-President)

Members of the International Advisory Board

Alfio Quarteroni (Chair)  |  Ivan Graham  |  Jean-Éric Pin  |  Peter Rousseeuw